The No Response

I wanted him to stay there.

I wanted him to look back.

I wanted him to rush towards me.

And hug me tightly

to hold me in his warm embrace

And never let me leave.

But here was I thinking what I want

And there was he leaving me far behind.

It’s always the same; it’s always like this.

He never did start

And I never did stop.

I giggled on his jokes

And listened his boastings

Befriended with enemies

And avoided my friends

Waited for him to confess

And ignored his ignorance

Moments and hours gone

Days and weeks gone

Months gone and years gone

But he never did, so I did.

I declared my heart out

And robbed my own grace

Eyes keen and ears straight

Waited for response in swift gait

No rejection but was not acceptance.

No denial yet no affection

Things stay stilled as if nothing happened

Yet burning was there somewhere deep inside.

‘Yes’ was not mandatory

Any words could do.

If voice was absent

Even a smile could do.

But here was I thinking what I want.

And there was he leaving me far behind.

 

 

One thought on “The No Response

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Kristen Twardowski

A Writer's Workshop

